Boards & Commissions

Metropolitan Education Commission (MEC)

1) Documentation:

Current AgendaPast Agendas Reports
Current LARPast LARs    
Current Minutes and AudioPast Minutes and Audio    

Current LAR:

  • MEC YAC-TTC LAR 03-18-15
  • MEC RCAC Subcommittee LAR 03-05-15
  • MEC Legal Action Report 03-18-15
  • 2) Description

    Identify issues of economic, political, and social importance to education and coordinate the work of the many agencies that support education. 8 year term limit.

    3) Maximum Number of Members


    4) Meeting Location

    To be provided.

    5) Meeting Time

    Meets as required.

    6) Information Sheet

    7) Members

    Mr. Louis AlbertMemberPima Community CollegeRepresentative
    Mr. William (Bill) ArdernTreasurerChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsRepresenting Health Care Community
    Dr. Linda ArzoumanianEx-Officio (Non-Voting)
    Dr. Mary Jan BancroftMemberMayor and CouncilSocial Service Agencies Servicing Children/Youth
    Mr. Dennis BargerMemberArizona School Administrators AssociationPrincipal
    Mr. Kent Paul BarrabeeMemberArizona School Boards Association
    Ms. Teri Bohr-LagunaMemberArizona Education AssociationRepresentative
    Mr. James CookMemberMayor and CouncilParks/Recreation/Housing
    Mr. Sheri DahlMemberChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsRepresenting Religious Community
    Ms. Jennifer DarlandMemberMayor and CouncilParent
    Mr. Richard EliasMemberChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsMember, Board of Supervisors
    Ms. Deborah EmbryMemberTucson Urban LeagueRepresenting African American Community
    Mr. George FavelaMemberChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsParent
    Ms. Jennifer FloresMemberArizona Education AssociationRepresentative
    Mr. Steven FreemanMemberCommissionDisabled Community Representative
    Ms. Molly GilbertMemberTucson Metro Chamber
    Mr. Javier HerreraMemberHispanic Community Forum
    Mr. Paul LovelisSecretaryChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsSocial Service Agencies Servicing Children/Youth
    Mr. Diego Martinez BarreraMemberYouth Advisory Council/Tucson Teen Congress
    Ms. Amber MathewsonMemberCommissionAt-Large Commission Appointee
    Ms. Vicky MullinsMemberNative American Community
    Mr. Aaron MyersMemberMayor and CouncilLibraries/Musems/Arts
    Mr. David NicholsonMemberYouth Advisory Council/Tucson Teen Congress
    Ms. Jo RiesterMemberEducation Enrichment Foundations
    Dr. Daisy Rodriguez PitelMemberAsian American CommunityRepresentative
    Ms. Regina RomeroMemberMayor and CouncilMember, Tucson City Council
    Ms. Jennifer SprungMemberArizona Education AssociationRepresentative
    Mr. Alan StormMemberGreater Tucson School University PartnershipSuperintendent
    Dr. Kasey UrquidezChairpersonUniversity of ArizonaRepresentative
    Dr. June Webb-VigneryEx-Officio (Non-Voting)
    Ms. Patricia WiedhopfVice ChairpersonCommissionAt-Large Commission Appointee

    For further information please contact the City Clerk's Office at (520) 791-4213.

    Datapages for the boards are provided in Adobe PDF format. You'll need the free Acrobat Reader to view the documents.