Boards & Commissions

Metropolitan Education Commission (MEC)

1) Documentation:

Current AgendaPast Agendas Reports
Current LARPast LARs    
Current Minutes and AudioPast Minutes and Audio    

2) Description

Identify issues of economic, political, and social importance to education and coordinate the work of the many agencies that support education. 8 year term limit.

3) Maximum Number of Members


4) Meeting Location

To be provided.

5) Meeting Time

Meets as required.

6) Information Sheet

7) Members

Ms. Aiselyn AnayaMemberYouth Advisory Council/Tucson Teen Congress
Mrs. Arlene BenavidezEx-Officio (Non-Voting)
Ms. Teri Bohr-LagunaMemberArizona Education AssociationRepresentative
Ms. Monica BrinkerhoffMemberMayor and CouncilParent
Mr. James CookMemberMayor and CouncilParks/Recreation/Housing
Mr. Buck CrouchMemberArizona School Boards Association
Ms. Kendra DaveyMemberCommissionAt-Large Commission Appointee
Ms. Melanie DonaldsonMemberArizona Education AssociationRepresentative
Dr. David DoreMemberPima Community CollegeRepresentative
Mr. Richard EliasMemberChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsMember, Board of Supervisors
Ms. Deborah EmbryAppointmentsTucson Urban LeagueRepresenting African American Community
Mr. George FavelaChairpersonChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsParent
Ms. Marcy FlanaganMemberChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsRepresenting Health Care Community
Mr. Steven FreemanSecretaryCommissionDisabled Community Representative
Ms. Daniela GallagherMemberTucson Regional Economic Opportunities
Ms. Molly GilbertMemberTucson Metro Chamber
Ms. Nicola Hartmann, CFREMemberMayor and CouncilSocial Service Agencies Servicing Children/Youth
Mr. Javier HerreraMemberHispanic Community Forum
Mr. Steve HolmesMemberGreater Tucson School University PartnershipSuperintendent
Mr. Alexander LewisMemberNative American Community
Mr. Paul LovelisVice ChairpersonChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsSocial Service Agencies Servicing Children/Youth
Mr. Luis ManjarrezTreasurerMayor and CouncilLibraries/Musems/Arts
Mr. Rafael MezaMemberCommissionRegionally Accredited Private Institution Representative
Ms. Leah NorengMemberEducation Enrichment Foundations
Mr. Mykhailo PolyakovMemberYouth Advisory Council/Tucson Teen Congress
Dr. Daisy Rodriguez PitelMemberAsian American CommunityRepresentative
Mr. Rex ScottMemberArizona School Administrators AssociationPrincipal
Ms. Jennifer SprungMemberArizona Education AssociationRepresentative
Dr. Kasey UrquidezMemberUniversity of ArizonaRepresentative
Ms. Patricia WiedhopfMemberCommissionAt-Large Commission Appointee
Mr. Dustin WilliamsEx-Officio (Non-Voting)
Pastor James WiltbankMemberChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsRepresenting Religious Community

For further information please contact the City Clerk's Office at (520) 791-4213.

Datapages for the boards are provided in Adobe PDF format. You'll need the free Acrobat Reader to view the documents.