Boards & Commissions

The latest Mayor's Declaration of Continuing Emergency dated May 15, 2020, has been extended to June 8, 2020. This extension continues to limit BCC meetings only to those functions critical to the development review process, and the review of grants to the City or other financial assistance so long as those meetings are conducted remotely through technological means and do not result in a public gathering. Limitations on public attendance remain in effect until the termination of the emergency in order to promote and protect public health and safety.

The restrictions that normally apply to these BCCs that limit the number of voting members who can appear remotely are temporarily suspended. The suspension of these restrictions is now also extended to those City BCCs:

1.  Whose duties include fiduciary oversight of City pensions, trusts and similar systems, including but not limited to the TSRS board, the local PSPRS boards, and similar BCCs; and

2.  Whose duties include conducting Charter-required appeals, including the Civil Service Commission.

Additionally, any member of a City BCC that is authorized to meet remotely pursuant to Section 8 of the Mayor's Declaration of Continuing Emergency but who refuses to attend such a meeting, and by doing so prevents the convening of a quorum of that body, is subject to removal by his or her appointing authority for cause. If you have any questions, please send them to

Metropolitan Education Commission (MEC)

1) Documentation:

Current AgendaPast Agendas Reports
Current LARPast LARs    
Current Minutes and AudioPast Minutes and Audio    

Current Agenda:

    2) Description

    Identify issues of economic, political, and social importance to education and coordinate the work of the many agencies that support education. 8 year term limit.

    3) Maximum Number of Members


    4) Meeting Location

    To be provided.

    5) Meeting Time

    Meets as required.

    6) Information Sheet

    7) Members

    Mrs. Arlene BenavidezEx-Officio (Non-Voting)
    Ms. Teri Bohr-LagunaMemberArizona Education AssociationRepresentative
    Ms. Monica BrinkerhoffSecretaryMayor and CouncilParent
    Mr. Buck CrouchMemberArizona School Boards Association
    Ms. Kendra DaveyMemberCommissionAt-Large Commission Appointee
    Dr. David DoreMemberPima Community CollegeRepresentative
    Mr. George FavelaMemberChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsParent
    Leslie FerreMemberArizona Education AssociationRepresentative
    Ms. Daniela FigueroaMemberMayor and CouncilSocial Service Agencies Servicing Children/Youth
    Mr. Steven FreemanMemberCommissionDisabled Community Representative
    Ms. Daniela GallagherMemberTucson Regional Economic Opportunities
    Mr. Javier HerreraMemberHispanic Community Forum
    Mr. Steve HolmesMemberSchool Districts Superintendent CollaborativeSuperintendent
    Mr. John LansaMemberEducation Enrichment Foundations
    Mr. Alexander LewisMemberNative American Community
    Mr. Paul LovelisChairpersonChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsSocial Service Agencies Servicing Children/Youth
    Milana MarshallMemberYouth Advisory Council/Tucson Teen Congress
    Mr. Rafael MezaAt-LargeCommissionRegionally Accredited Private Institution Representative
    Ms. Clarisa NidoMemberArizona School Administrators AssociationPrincipal
    Nicole PargasMemberChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsRepresenting Health Care Community
    Ms. Kathy PratherMemberTucson Regional Economic Opportunities
    Dr. Daisy Rodriguez PitelVice ChairpersonAsian American CommunityRepresentative
    Ms. Regina RomeroMemberMayor and CouncilMember, Tucson City Council
    Ms. Devon ScheitrumMemberTucson Metro Chamber
    Mr. Rex ScottMemberCommissionAt-Large Commission Appointee
    Ms. Jennifer SprungMemberArizona Education AssociationRepresentative
    Dr. Kasey UrquidezMemberUniversity of ArizonaRepresentative
    Ms. Betty VillegasMemberChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsMember, Board of Supervisors
    Mr. Dustin WilliamsEx-Officio (Non-Voting)
    Pastor James WiltbankMemberChair, Pima County Board of SupervisorsRepresenting Religious Community

    For further information please contact the City Clerk's Office at (520) 791-4213.

    Datapages for the boards are provided in Adobe PDF format. You'll need the free Acrobat Reader to view the documents.