Glass Reuse Plan

On Tuesday, Nov. 17, the City of Tucson Mayor and Council voted to remove glass from the residential and commercial blue barrel program and start reusing it. Glass is no longer be accepted in the blue bins, but instead collected at drop-off sites across the city

View the Glass Reuse Plan HERE

By removing glass from curbside collection, the Environmental and General Services Department (EGSD) will reduce processing costs at the Materials Recovery Facility (MRF), while implementing a communitywide glass collection program that keeps glass for reuse locally. The reuse of glass locally provides the City with more program control, while reducing greenhouse gas emissions. This program will support the City's adopted Climate Action Plan that was approved by Mayor and Council.

Drop-off sites opened in February and information was mailed to all EGSD customers in January. Glass dropped off should be empty, clean, and dry and lids and caps should be removed. There is no need to remove the labels. It is fine if the glass breaks. The only glass accepted in the purple containers is bottles and jugs. 

Here is what will be accepted in the blue barrel program: 

  • Plastic bottles, jugs, and containers 

  • Paper  

  • Cardboard 

  • Aluminum/steel cans 

List of Glass Locations: 

  1. Ward 6 Council Office - 3202 E. 1st Street
  2. Ward 4 Council Office - 8123 E. Poinciana Drive
  3. Quincie Douglas Center - 1575 E. 36th Street
  4. Mission Manor Park - 5900 S. 12th Avenue
  5. Todd Harris Sports Complex - 2400 S. Craycroft Road
  6. Armory Senior Center - 220 S. 5th Avenue
  7. Westside Police Substation - 1310 W. Miracle Mile
  8. Santa Rosa Center - 1080 S. 10th Avenue
  9. El Rio Center - 1390 W. Speedway Blvd. 
  10. Eastside Police Substation - 9670 E. Golf Links Road
  11. Archer Center - 1665 S. La Cholla Blvd. 
  12. El Pueblo Center - 101 W. Irvington Road
  13. Purple Heart Park - 9800 E. Rita Road
  14. Udall Center - 7200 E. Tanque Verde Road
  15. Donna Liggins Center - 2160 N. 6th Avenue
  16. Ward 5 Council Office - 4300 S. Park Avenue 
  17. Patrick K. Hardesty Center - 1100 S. Alvernon Way
  18. Los Reales Landfill - 5300 E. Los Reales Road
  19. Tucson Fire Department, Station 15 - 2002 S Mission Road
  20. Eastside City Hall - 7575 E. Speedway Blvd. 
  21. McCormick Park - 2950 N. Columbus Blvd.
  22. Rio Vista Natural Resource Park - 3974 N. Tucson Blvd.