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PURPOSE
To provide leave for eligible employees for the death of a family member.
POLICY

Pursuant to Tucson Code § 22-91(a)(7) this directive provides for paid or unpaid time off for
a period of bereavement for the loss of a family member, including loss of a child through
miscarriage, not to exceed one work week (for full-time employees: 40 hours, or 56 hours for
commissioned fire suppression personnel; part-time employees receive 20 hours) per
calendar year (not to be deducted from Sick Leave or Vacation Leave). Probationary
employees are eligible to use Bereavement Leave, subject to the provisions of this directive.

DEFINITIONS

A. Family Member - The definition of family member covers a wide range of relationships,
including spouse; parents; parents-in-law; children; brothers; sisters; grandparents;
grandchildren; step parents; step children; foster parents; foster children; guardianship
relationships; same sex and opposite sex domestic partners; and spouses or domestic
partners of the aforementioned, as applicable. A full list of “family members” and their
definitions can be found in Appendix “A.”

(Note: These definitions apply to Bereavement Leave only and do not apply the Family &
Medical Leave Act.)

DEATH OF A FAMILY MEMBER

This administrative directive provides Bereavement Leave for City employees as follows:

A. City employees will be entitled to a maximum of three (3) paid days of Bereavement
Leave in connection with the death of a family member within the state of Arizona. An
additional two (2) days of paid leave will be authorized in connection with the death of
a family member where the employee must travel outside the state of Arizona. The
total paid Bereavement Leave not charged to Sick Leave or Vacation Leave will not
exceed 40 hours for full-time employees (or 56 hours for commissioned fire
suppression personnel) annually (part-time employees receive 20 hours). If paid
Bereavement Leave is exhausted, any additional approved bereavement-related
absences will be covered by either accrued paid leave (Sick Leave, Vacation Leave, or
Compensatory Time, if available for use) or Leave without Pay (LWOP), if applicable
paid leave is exhausted.

B. Bereavement Leave must be used in full-day increments.

C. Employees requesting Bereavement Leave may be required to provide documentation
of the death and their relationship.
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DEATH OF OTHER THAN A FAMILY MEMBER

An employee requesting Bereavement Leave for any person not specified as a family member
in this directive must either use accrued Sick Leave, Vacation Leave, or Compensatory Time,
or be placed on Leave without Pay (if applicable paid leave is exhausted or employee is
ineligible for available leave, with the approval of the employee’s department
director/designee).

Appendices

References (for a
complete list of references
for the entire AD Leaves
series, please see

AD 2.01-7)

Review Responsibility
and Frequency

Authorized

Definitions related to Family Member for bereavement Leave.

5 CFR 630.201, 630.803, 630.902, 630.1002, and 630.1102
Tucson Code § 22-91 (a)(7)

The Human Resources Director will review this directive as needed.
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APPENDIX “A”
Definitions Related to Family Member for Bereavement Leave

Family Member
An individual with any of the following relationships to the employee:
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Parent
1.

2.

3.

4.

Spouse, and parents thereof;

Sons and daughters, and spouses thereof;

Parents, and spouses thereof;

Brothers and sisters, and spouses thereof;

Grandparents and grandchildren, and spouses thereof;

Domestic partner and parents thereof, including domestic partners of any individual in 2
through 5§ of this definition; and

Any individual related by blood or affinity whose close association with the employee is the
equivalent of a family relationship.

A biological, adoptive, step, or foster parent of the employee, or a person who was a foster
parent of the employee when the employee was a minor;

A person who is the legal guardian of the employee or was the legal guardian of the employee
when the employee was a minor or required a legal guardian;

A person who stands in loco parentis to the employee or stood in loco parentis to the
employee when the employee was a minor or required someone to stand in loco parentis; or
A parent (as described in the above subparagraphs) of an employee's spouse or domestic
partner.

Son or Daughter

1
2.

3.

4.

A biological, adopted, step, or foster son or daughter of the employee;

A person who is a legal ward or was a legal ward of the employee when that individual was a
minor or required a legal guardian;

A person for whom the employee stands in loco parentis or stood in loco parentis when that
individual was a minor or required someone to stand in loco parentis; or

A son or daughter (as described in 1-3) of an employee's spouse or domestic partner.

Domestic Partner

An adult in a committed relationship with another adult, including both same sex and opposite-sex
relationships.

Committed Relationship

A relationship in which the employee, and the domestic partner of the employee, are each other's
sole domestic partner (and are not married to or domestic partners with anyone else); and share
responsibility for a significant measure of each other's common welfare and financial obligations. This
includes, but is not limited to, any relationship between two individuals of the same or opposite sex
that is granted legal recognition by a State or by the District of Columbia as a marriage or analogous
relationship (including, but not limited to, a civil union).





