
 
 
 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE 
 

 
 

BEREAVEMENT LEAVE 

NUMBER 
 

2.01-7H 

PAGE 
 

1 of 2 
EFFECTIVE DATE 
  

July 1, 2013 
 
I. PURPOSE 
 

To provide leave for eligible employees for the death of an immediate family member or other 
specified persons. 

 
II. POLICY 
 

Pursuant to Tucson Code § 22-91(a)(7) , this directive provides for paid or unpaid time off for a 
period of bereavement for the loss of an immediate family member, not to exceed one work 
week (for full-time employees: 40 hours, or 56 hours for commissioned fire suppression 
personnel; part-time employees receive 20 hours) per calendar year (not to be deducted from 
Sick Leave or Vacation Leave).  Probationary employees are eligible to use Bereavement 
Leave, subject to the provisions of this directive. 
 

III. DEFINITIONS 
 

A. Domestic Partnership – An unmarried couple who share a relationship of caring and 
commitment, who are not related by blood closer than would bar marriage in the State 
of Arizona; are not married to another person in a marriage expressly recognized by 
the State of Arizona or in any domestic partnership and/or civil union with another 
person; are both 18 years old or older; are both competent to enter into a contract; both 
declare that they are each other’s sole domestic partner; and both currently share a 
primary residence, are in a relationship of mutual support, and declare that they intend 
to remain in such for the indefinite future.  

 
B. Immediate Family Member of Employee – The employee's spouse or domestic 

partner, parents, stepparents, parent surrogate, child(ren), grandparents, 
grandchild(ren), brother, sister. 

 
C. Immediate Family Member of Employee’s Spouse/Domestic Partner – The 

employee’s spouse/domestic partner’s parents, stepparents, child(ren), grandparents. 
 

(Note: Aunts, uncles, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, stepbrother and stepsister are not 
considered immediate family members for purposes of receiving paid Bereavement Leave.) 
 

IV. DEATH OF IMMEDIATE FAMILY MEMBER 
 
This administrative directive provides Bereavement Leave for City employees as follows: 
 
A. City employees will be entitled to a maximum of three (3) paid days of Bereavement 

Leave in connection with the death of an immediate family member within the state of 
Arizona.  An additional two (2) days of paid leave will be authorized in connection with 
the death of an immediate family member where the employee must travel outside the 
state of Arizona. The total paid Bereavement Leave not charged to Sick Leave or 
Vacation Leave will not exceed 40 hours for full-time employees (or 56 hours for 
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commissioned fire suppression personnel) annually (part-time employees receive 20 
hours). If paid Bereavement Leave is exhausted, any additional approved 
bereavement-related absences will be covered by either accrued paid leave (Sick 
Leave, Vacation Leave, or Compensatory Time, if available for use) or Leave without 
Pay (LWOP), if applicable paid leave is exhausted. 

 
B. Bereavement Leave must be used in full-day increments. 
 
C. Employees requesting Bereavement Leave may be required to provide documentation 

of the death and their relationship. 
 

D. Domestic partners must be registered and documentation may be required if an 
employee requests Bereavement Leave for an immediate family member of their 
domestic partner.  

 
V. DEATH OF OTHER THAN IMMEDIATE FAMILY MEMBER 
 

An employee requesting Bereavement Leave for any person not specified as an immediate 
family member in this directive must either use accrued Sick Leave, Vacation Leave, or 
Compensatory Time, or be placed on Leave without Pay (if applicable paid leave is exhausted 
or employee is ineligible for available leave, with the approval of the employee’s department 
director/designee). 

 
 
Appendices None. 
  
References (for a  
complete list of references 
for the entire AD Leaves 
series, please see  
AD 2.01-7) 

Tucson Code § 22-91 (a)(7) 
 

  
Review Responsibility 
and Frequency 

The Human Resources Director will review this directive as needed. 

  
Authorized  

 
 
__________________________ _________________ 
City Manager Date 

 


