Council Members Re-Elected; Charter Changes Ahead; County Bonds Defeated

With thousands of votes outstanding, it appears voters in the City of Tucson yesterday re-elected four incumbents on the Tucson City Council. Democrats Regina Romero, Paul Cunningham, and Shirley Scott each won new terms. Democratic Mayor Jonathan Rothschild won a second term with no opponent.

Voters also appear to have approved two changes to the City Charter. One gives the mayor equal voting power on the City Council and that person would also count toward a quorum. The other item allows the city manager to hire and fire department heads. Voters seemingly rejected another Charter change that would have given raises to the Mayor and City Council. They also appeared to have turned thumbs down on seven bond questions for Pima County.

Election results