Defensive Driving School
Arizona statutes allows you to remove one DDS-eligible traffic violation from your driving record once every 12 months by completing Defensive Driving School (DDS). If you are eligible, the DDS Program is available for one DDS-eligible violation on your citation (complaint). All additional violations on your citation (complaint) must be processed through the court.
Advantages of Attending Defensive Driving School:
- You will not pay a fine for one DDS-eligible traffic violation
- You will not have to go to court for that violation
- That violation will be dismissed
- There are no points against your license for that violation
Eligibility Requirements for Taking a Defensive Driving Course
- You have not attended a Defensive Driving course for an eligible traffic citation issued within the past 12 months. Your eligibility to attend a Defensive Driving Course is based on the date of your current violation not on the date you last attended a Defensive Driving Course.
- Your violation must be on the list of eligible violations. Click here to view the list.
- Ifeligible, you can attend to have only one violation dismissed.
- If you were involved in a serious injury accident or fatal accident, you are not eligible.
If you hold a commercial driver license you may be eligible for the *defensive driving program. Effective September 1, 2019, commercial driver license holders may complete a defensive driving course under the following conditions:
- The individual was driving a vehicle requiring a Class D or a Class M license.
- The vehicle was not being used for commercial purposes.
- Meets the other defensive driving eligibility requirement for non-commercial driver license holders.
- You must complete your course no later than 7 days prior to your court date on your ticket (citation), or extension date if granted.
- You may take the class in person or online. If you were specifically ordered by a judge to attend the course in person, you must register for a classroom course.
*After successful completion of an Arizona-certified defensive driving program, the court is required to forward the record of judgement to Arizona Motor Vehicle Division, however no points are assessed to the driver’s record.
You may ask the Court for more time to attend Defensive Driving School-DDS on or before your appearance date. You must pay a "DDS Extension Fee" of $17 at the time of your request. You can request an extension by contacting the court via:
In person: 103 E Alameda, Public Services lobby, room 104, Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Mail: Tucson City Court, 103 E. alameda St. Tucson, AZ 85701
Convictions of ARS 28-645A3A-Fail to Stop for Red Light or 28-647.1-Fail to Obey Flashing Red Stop Signal are required to attend Traffic Survival School (MVD requirement)
View the list of qualified Tucson City Court defensive driving schools, or call (888) 334-5565